RSS

My current WIPs

13 Oct

As a compulsive starter and slackarse finisher of knitting projects, I am never short of a WIP or two. I keep trying to ban myslef from starting another project until I finish one of my WIPs but it doestn’t work. I just ignore myself. Plus, I really, really,really hate hand sewing. Here are some of my current WIPs.

under-the-hoodie-oct-13-06.JPG 

This is the beginning of my Under the hoodie from Stitch n Bitch. This pattern is one the reasons why I decided to learn how to knit. I started this a couple of days ago even though I promised myself I would not knit another plain st stitch garment for 6 months (see the top paragraph about me ignoring myself). Plus, I just love Cleackheaton “Country Silk” although it does have a very limited range of colours at the moment.

 Big Sack Sweater

The Big Sack Sweater from Stitch n Bitch using Cleakheaton “Country 12 ply”. Why am I knitting two jumpers six weeks away from a nice, humid, steamy and tropical Brisbane summer??? At least I will be looking forward to winter next year instead of my usual dread. In fact, winter may well become my favourite season at this rate. I really need to get over my fear of knitting lace and start making myself some nice, breezy summer knits.

 Go Everywhere, Go With Everything Cardigan

The Go Everywhere, Go With Everything Cardigan from Stitch n Bitch in Cleckheaton “Country 8 ply” is by far and away the WIP that causes me the most gulit. It has been “in progress” for nearly a year and I have finished the knitting – all I have to do sew it (I have already done 85% of the sewing but I have made a HUGE mistake and now have to start all over again), dye and crochet around the edge. Easy, huh? Well, you’d think so but as I have huge issues with hand-sewing and procratination, here it is still a WIP.

Kittyville Beanies

We all know and love the Kittyville Beanie from Kitty62ville, including me. But as it turns out, I am not that fussed about fiddly bits, like picking up stitches and so on. So without further ado I give you my unfinished Kittyville Beanies all done in Cleckheaton “Country 8 ply”.

meemas-felted-marsupial-tote-oct-13-06.JPG

One day this will be Meema’s Felted Marsupial Tote from Stitch n Bitch when I can next con my hott bf into driving me down to Spotlight so I can buy some more yarn. I am not a big fan of the colour combintaion but as I am planning to palm this off to one of my 55+ female ‘lations for xmas, whether I like it or not isn’t really the issue. I am hoping that Patons “Jet” felts up nicely or else my hard work will have been for naught. While we are on the subject bags…

letter-have-it-oct-13-06.JPG

Here you are witnessing the birth of Stitch n Bitch Nation Letter Have It in Patons “Jet”. And like all births that include knitting intarsia for the very first time I cried, I screamed, I regretted, I swore and I frogged. Then I put it down and picked up some regular ‘ol st stitch knitting. I will attempt intarsia again tomorrow. Or the day after. Maybe next week.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2006 in WIPs

 

Leave a Reply

 
