RSS

Enough about you, let’s talk about me.

20 Oct

I am a 31 year old woman living in Brisbane, Queensland. I’ve two cats: Rupert & Indiana. I grew up in South Australia and Queensland but I have also lived in New South Wales and Victoria. I have been married and divorced, lived a colourful and somewhat misguided youth and I have very rarely ever been truly bored.

I have mustered cattle, hand-milked cows, trained Standardbreds (probably my favourite breed of horse), driven coaches and carriages, been a fish & chip delivery driver, volunteered at the RSPCA, volunteered at a drug and alcohol rehab in Northern NSW, studied science and secondary education (I quit education three years into a four year degree), child-wrangled at an after school care centre and worked in an office (the worst and hardest job I have ever done). I started uni again this year, studying zoology, but was forced to defer yet again due to my back problems. When, oh when, will I finish my degree?!?

I love reading, especially JK Rowling, Terry Pratchett, Robin Hobb, Jane Austin, Charles Dickens, Tolkien and Neil Gaiman. I learnt to read at a very young age and have always been attracted to the escapism fantasy and sci-fi fiction offer. This love translates into what I like to watch: Buffy, Firefly, Star Trek, Star Wars, Pixar, Disney etc.

I have been passionate about music since I was a young, wee child, listening to my dad’s Beatles, Buddy Holly, Queen, Rolling Stones and Goon Show records and tapes. At about age 12 I grew some very strong music tastes of my own as I discovered U2 and INXS. As an older teenager my music tastes matured with The Cure, Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds, Pixies, Violent Femmes, Nirvana, Siouxsie & the Banshees, The Stone Roses, Blur, Pulp, Sonic Youth and The Smiths. I still love going to see bands, dancing at alternative music clubs all night long, playing pool and having a beer. My “newer” music interests include Sigur Ros, The White Stripes, Scissor Sisters, Gorillaz and The Devastations.

I started knitting in ’05 (with a horrible red feathery/furry kind of yarn that was extremely forgiving which was good for a perfectionist like me) and I made a bag, an ipod cozy, two scarves and a hat but I lost interest as the end of the year loomed and summer drew near, preferring to play my PS2 than knit. Due to a car accident in January of ’06 which meant I could not work for about 6 weeks, I found I had a lot more time on my hands to both play the PS2 and knit. I went back to work where I injured my lower back by lifting a box of envelopes. My back never got better, resulting in back surgery in Sept ’06 and I haven’t stopped knitting unless, of course, I get a game that I just have to play and can’t put down – curse you Kingdom Hearts and Ico.

I have always enjoyed making things with my hands but I have never been particularly artistic or creative. I like knitting so much because I find working from patterns is very structured and formulaic, much like a science discipline. I will never be able to design intricate and complex knitting patterns, nor do I feel the need to when I can create my own work of art following someone else’s instructions. I guess knitting from patterns is a way to be creative without having any artistic talent. Like paint-by-numbers but way cooler.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2006 in Profile

 

2 responses to “Enough about you, let’s talk about me.

  1. Nubiancraftster

    October 22, 2006 at 12:53 am

    Wow CrowJane…are you my long lost cousin? We seem to have quite a lot in common, except for the back injury which I am sorry to hear about. I love my PS2 and become addicted easily. Haven’t found a game that has got my attention lately but might try some of your recommendations. I knit compulsively and am just starting to sew (beginning sewing class starting on Monday). I love following patterns to stave off the mistakes, which happen pattern or not. Thanks for the great compliment on my blog, can’t wait to see all your progress and read yet another &%$^ knitting blog :O)

     
  2. crowjane

    October 23, 2006 at 11:11 pm

    Thanks for looking at my blog and posting a nice comment. It feels good to get some encouragement.

     

Leave a Reply

 
