RSS

Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers

04 Nov

hurry-up-spring-arwmwarmers-041106-1.JPG

hurry-up-spring-armwarmers-011106-2.JPG

hurry-up-spring-arwmwarmers-041106-2.JPG

Yarn: Noro Kureyon #124
Pattern:  Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers – Stitch n Bitch Nation
Yardage: 100M
Needles:  4.5mm dpn
 

Well, my Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers are finally finished. Knitting the left one was a totally different experience to knitting the right one. No mistakes on my part and no dodgy yarn on Noro Kureyon‘s part. I am glad they are done – now I just have to wait 6 months before I can wear them. They are still a little scratchy but I am hoping a gentle wool wash will make all the difference.  But they look fantastic and the colours are just beautiful.  I made mine half as long again as the pattern suggests – instead of 50 rows of the leaf and vine cable motif I knitted 75 rows. I had to alter the the pattern a tiny bit to make the leaves and vines match up but apart from that it was very easy to do.

Right Skein

  • Yarn snapped & broke
  • Very thick or very thin
  • Knots & twigs
  • I made mistakes
  • Armwarmer thinner & shorter

Left Skein 

  • Yarn well plied and strong
  • Even thickness throughout
  • No knots or twigs
  • I made no mistakes
  • Armwarmer thicker & longer 

 Edited to incude hopefully helpful hints for Melissa and anybody else:

Hey Melissa! I feel your pain. I found some of the instructions rather confusing, too. I found the >I< the most confusing until I figured out it was just a variation of the one you are having trouble with using 3 stitches instead of 2.

I will try to make this as clear as possible:

  • using the right needle knit through the back loop of both stitches on the left needle at the same time, just as if you were doing a ktbl (knit through back loop) using 2 stitches instead of 1

  • now loop your yarn around the right needle and pull your new loop through the 2 stitches just as if you were doing a k2tog ktbl

  • do not drop the 2 stitches off the left needle because then you will have 1 new stitch where you used to have 2 old stitches – this would be a decrease which you don’t want to do

  • now, do a k2tog using the 2 stitches you just knit into the back of – it can sometimes be a bit tricky and tight

  • you now have 2 new stitches to replace the 2 old ones so slip the old ones off the left needle

  • TA-DA!!

I hope this made it a bit more clear for you. Let me know if it didn’t or if you have any more questions. Good luck.

The following is how I extended to chart pattern to 75 rows.

Reading chart right to left:

 

|

51
\ \- | 50
   | \ \- 49

Row 51 is row 1 . Start thumbhole shaping on row 55 (row 5 ). Finish cable pattern on row 75 (row 25).

 

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2006 in FOs, Knitting, Knitting help

 

9 responses to “Hurry Up Spring Armwarmers

  1. salamander

    November 11, 2006 at 4:06 am

    they look great! I like the look of yours much better than the ones in the book. it’s a shame about the kureyon being so…unpredictable, because the colors are gorgeous. did the wool wash help the softness at all?

     
  2. crowjane

    November 11, 2006 at 11:37 am

    I haven’t used the woolwash yet…with temperatures reaching 30C (86F) they have kind of been put on the backburner til next year – but you have been a good motivator – I will do it in the next week and then go sit in my air-conditioned car to get a real feel of them.

     
  3. Wendi

    November 15, 2006 at 10:43 pm

    Wow, those are gorgeous! Nice work! It’s armwarmer season up here in the Pacific NW USA, so I have worn my Hurry Up Spring armwarmers a few times lately (they are great for wearing in the car when it’s very cold out). I think yours are a prettier colorway, though. 🙂

     
  4. Melissa

    November 28, 2006 at 1:16 pm

    Yours are beautiful. I am making my first pair now with Camouflage yarn. I am new to knitting. I am having trouble with the “Sl right needle through next 2 st as if to k through the back, k through the back and front of both sts”. I slide the right needle into the back loop of the next two stitches but do not know how I would knit through those two back loops and front loops of both stitches. Are they done at the same time or separately? Wouldn’t it be a ktog?? Help!

     
  5. NORA

    November 29, 2006 at 7:39 am

    Beautiful!

     
  6. Arianne

    December 2, 2006 at 12:55 am

    I like them! Could you please post the pattern mods you used to make them longer? I’d like it.

    Thanks!

     
  7. Melissa

    December 8, 2006 at 4:37 pm

    Thanks! Now, That really helped.
    Now I’m stuck at the thumb gusset. I don’t know how to follow those SM and PM directions. Are there any suggestions you have for the thumbs or a site I can go to? The directions are vague, once again. For me, anyways.

     
  8. Dawneca

    November 2, 2007 at 11:55 am

    Thanks for this. Just finished mine and realized I didn’t reverse the pattern completely. You have to make a copy, right, and reverse all the slants? So, I have to do the left one again . . . made mine out of CTH glitter thick n thin. Too much going on but now I know, don’t I? Thanks!

     
  9. Becky

    February 21, 2012 at 1:49 pm

    These are beautiful. i’m knitting a pairright now and am having such difficulty with the left side that I had to google “hurry up spring arm warmers” for help. This is the first time I’ve attempted cabling…when it says to reverse chart pattern for left does this mean all stiches are also reversed meaning I knit the purls and purl the knits..and hold the cn to front when it says back,then do i knit when it says p. I’m so confused.I’ve already pulled my work out 5 times…its just not working for me:( any helpful hints would be appreciated.

     

Leave a Reply

 
