RSS

FO – Meema’s Felted Marsupial Tote (sans the marsupial bit)

20 Nov

meemas-felted-marsupial-tote-181106-2.JPG
Before felting

meemas-felted-marsupial-tote-181106-shaping.JPG
Blocking into shape using Yellow Pages

meemas-felted-marsupial-tote-191106-1.JPG
Size comparison

meemas-felted-marsupial-tote-191106-brooch.JPG
Finished! 

Yarn: Patons “Jet” 70% wool 30% alpaca – 2 strands held together to get guage
Pattern: Meema’s Felted Marsupial Tote- Stitch n Bitch
Yardage: 73M
Needles: 10mm 60cm circulars

This is my first forray into felting – I loved it. It was a bit risky, a bit daring…will it work or won’t it? Will it felt? Will it be too small or too big? Have I just wasted all my work and $40 worth of yarn? It felted up so well and I am very, very pleased with it. Now I wanna felt everything I have ever made. It ended up being a gift for my mother as it was recently her birthday. I knew it would end up going to one older female relative or another. Now I want to make more in funkier, more me colours. I did not make the marsupial pouch so I really want to give that a go, too. I think I might make lots of these for xmas gifts.

I even enjoyed the smell of the wet yarn – it made me recall washing my first dog, Ben and swimming with my second dog, Penny. I like the smell of clean, wet dog. Happy times.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 20, 2006 in FOs, Knitting

 

One response to “FO – Meema’s Felted Marsupial Tote (sans the marsupial bit)

  1. Nubiancraftster

    November 21, 2006 at 4:57 am

    Great job on the bag. You are really USING your SNB book. Are u going to knit everything out of it?! :O) I on the other had have yet to make anything out of either of my SNB books. All remain UFOs instead of FOs. I have used it for technique though.

    Keep up the wonderful knitting. Oh…and I really love that yellow sock yarn you bought…is that Wildfoote? i couldn’t see the name

     

Leave a Reply

 
