RSS

Indiana

24 Apr

I adopted Indiana at the beginning of April from the RSPCA. He is an 18 month old Balinese X who was abused and neglected by his previous owners. Eventually, Indy found his way to the RSPCA Fairfield shelter were I do volunteer work in the call centre. A couple of people were interested in him and one even had him on hold but he contracted cat-flu from the shelter (no matter how strict the RSPCA is with hygiene, these sorts of diseases flourish in shelters and pounds because most of the animals that find their way into the shelters and pounds are not vaccinated and are not well-looked after). Suddenly nobody wanted him again. Except for me.

You see, when I adopted a different at the beginning of last year, she was an undiagnosed cat-flu cat. I had no idea she had cat-flu as she was not sneezing, her eyes weren’t weepy, her nose wasn’t runny, no mouth ulcers. I brought her home were she passed on cat-flu to my fully vaccinated Rupert.

So from now on, I should only ever adopt cat-flu kitties for fear of one of my cats passing on the disease to a healthy kitty. Which brings me back to Indy. I had my eye on him from the start because a cat like him stands out in a shelter full of moggies (which I also love). But, alas, as he was perfectly healthy, I could not adopt him. But in a twist of fate, he caught cat-flu and became mine.

The RSPCA insists on property checks and interviews before allowing someone to adopt an animal that is known to have suffered abuse and/or neglect. So after my interview I had to wait a day before I got my property check – I passed both with flying colours. Now, without any further ado, allow me to introduce my wonderful, funny, energetic, boof-headed, beautiful blue-eyed boy, Indy.

p4230020.jpg

indy-050407-2.jpg

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2007 in Animals

 

2 responses to “Indiana

  1. Nubiancraftster

    April 25, 2007 at 12:10 am

    ahhh, from your chance meeting it was fated that he would be yours. He is soo handsome. Congratulations on your newest family member.

     
  2. Adrian

    May 1, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    hello, well i can’t wait to get up there and harass the cat (s). You will be known as the neighbourhood “cat lady”. BTW, good to see the blog happening again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
