RSS

Well, well, well. Look what the cat(s) dragged in…

14 Oct

So, after an 15 month leave of absence, I’m back. Let’s just pretend that I never left.

Noro Striped Scarf

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden 84 & 211
Purchased: Wool Baa during a 36 hour visit to Melbourne
Pattern: Noro Striped Scarf by Jared Flood
Yardage: 100M
Needles: 4.5mm 

On Ravelry

Discussion:

I started this scarf on 18/02/2008 and finished on 08/03/2008. I bought the yarn in a great little LYS in Melbourne, Wool Baa, during a quick 36 hour holiday that I took down there to see the Nick Cave Exhibition (but that’s a whole ‘nother post).

I knit about 5cm of the scarf and I kept on thinking “the sides really don’t look right” but like the apathetic idiot I am, I kept right on knitting anyway. I got to 30cm and decided that I just couldn’t live with how wrong the edges looked. And that is really saying something coz I’m very much from The Meh-Near-Enough-Is-Good-Enough School of Knitted Perfection. So I looked on to Ravelry to see exactly how and where I was fucking it up. I figured out that I was holding the yarn incorrectly whilst performing the slips purlwise so I frogged what I had done and started again.

I doubt I would have been driven to such extremes like ripping out a simple ribbed scarf if it wasn’t for the fact that after an incredibly short time, I was completely smitten by my creation.

The colours! My god, the colours! Look at the colours and note how they accent and compliment, accentuate and enhance every colour change before and after each stripe.  Scroll back up – I’ll wait for you. There, do you see what I mean?

I spent a fair while sitting on the floor at the Wool Baa choosing which two colourways would most suit me and each other and my decision was flawless (in my most humble and unbiased opinion). 

It is the most beautiful object I have made to date.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 14, 2008 in Knitting

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Well, well, well. Look what the cat(s) dragged in…

  1. Miss Vicki

    October 14, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Love the scarf, love the new look blog. Welcome back 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
